Understanding Grief and Loss

Understanding Grief and Loss

Grief is the anguish we feel when we experience a significant loss, such as the death of a loved one, a divorce, or a serious medical diagnosis. Grief may feel different depending on the type of loss—for example, the sudden death of a loved one may bring up different feelings than a divorce after an unstable relationship. Whatever the feelings it brings up, grief is a natural and healthy response to loss.

Coping with Grief and Loss

In the wake of a loss, it’s common to go through multiple stages of grief, including denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. While everyone moves through these stages in their own way, there are cases in which grief can linger and impact your life in unhealthy ways. If you have experienced a loss and are struggling with grief, it’s important to find healthy ways of coping to help move toward acceptance.

Search Resource Center

Type your search term below